top of page
  • nichkopetzky

Single Review: “Close This (Remix)” by Dream Mode

Released: June 29, 2023


TL;DR: Modern pop rock sensibilities meet timeless jamming skills in this bop.


When it comes to independent music talent, New York City giveth and giveth some more.


Dream Mode is a guitarist and vocalist from NYC. They make modern disco-flavored tracks which blend elements of several genres. He leans heavily on memorable riffs, bright tones, and vocal effects to create a listening experience that sticks with the listener. On this remix of his release “Close This”, they succeed.


The production of “Close This” is anchored by an upbeat electric axe and a straightforward synthetic beat. Synth tones are added for atmosphere and background enhancement. The result is a spacious, almost celebratory sound that gets the listener smiling and tapping their feet. The instrumental mix is essential and treated as such on “Close This”; it sets the mood early and maintains it start to finish.


The vocals are difficult to describe: vocal effects are layered on in plenty. I’m definitely out of my depth reviewing such tracks. Longtime readers will know my affinity for acoustic music and preference for raw vocals. However, the optimistic nature of the track is complemented well by Dream Mode’s laid-back performance. They handle the technical demands with ease, switching from the lower register on the chorus to a much more pronounced higher register. While the vocals are somewhat drowned out on the verses, the chorus is where Dream Mode gets a chance to shine.


I’ll be honest: I’d listened to this track frequently and on my own I was not sure what the lyrics meant. Everything flows together well, but I just had no idea what to make of it. When I asked the artist, they revealed a desire to write a breakup track without bitterness. In this context, the song makes a ton of sense. Furthermore, I will note the excellent word choice and phrasing. The ethereal, relaxed atmosphere of the song is enhanced by mysterious lyrics. You would certainly never expect a track about the end of a relationship to be so catchy.


All in all, I’m a big fan of what I hear from Dream Mode on this track. I will keep listening.


Score: 8/10 (keep it coming)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page