top of page
  • nichkopetzky

Single Review: "Rainy Day" by Ice Nine Kills

Released: September 9, 2021


Thanks to Bryson for my first reader-recommended song!

TL;DR: Maybe I don't dislike heavy metal after all, because this was just a well-executed song.


For the record, heavy metal has never been and will never be the genre I'm most comfortable with, just because my music tastes are usually quite soft. However, I admit that this song not only exceeded my expectations, but it went into my regular playlist rotation. That's high praise from me.


The production is exactly what you'd expect: hard-charging, angsty, brutal guitar and percussion lead the way. However, the space made for the vocals is clear, which allows you to absorb that this song. It's far from being a wall of noise and actually quite meaningful. The tension and pure fury in the sound matches the intense and bizarre, but deeply interesting, lyrics. That counts for a lot.


The vocals are also what you'd expect, and I don't feel qualified to comment on this at all beyond what I said in relation to the production above. However, any vocalist who can sing like this and still sound that good is the real deal.


The lyrics are what set this track apart and raise it to a good song (even a very good one, depending on my mood.) They are grotesque, they are discomfort-inducing, and yet that's the point. It appears the song was perhaps written for the purposes of being in a horror movie based on the album cover. However, even if not, this would definitely fit the bill. There's a ton of meaning behind the noise and rage here.


This song proves that my loyal readers (none of whom are blood relatives with exception of two or three people) have very good taste. But then, you all knew that already, didn't you? ;)

Score: 7/10 (backhanded but high praise)

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page